My very own recipe for gravy

When my relatives from out-of-town comes to visit, I usually prepare a grilled steak, kebab, pork bbq with vegetable salad party.  I do the steaks and vegetable salad part and Yaya Pacing does the grilled baby back ribs.  It’s very good. I serve my steaks with my very own gravy recipe, which my sister pours over her steak, rice and whatever’s on her plate. I’d say its a thick version of cream of mushroom/onion soup.

I don’t have an exact measurement because it’s usually whatever’s on han. But the basic ingredients are as follows

flour / butter mixture to make roux
finely chopped onions
finely chopped garlic
finely chopped button mushroom or shitake mushroom or combination mushrooms
chicken stock or vegetable stock
steak sauce
bbq marinade sauce
worchestershire sauce
freshly ground pepper
salt to taste

First brown roux in a saucepan. Add onions and sprinkle with a little salt until slightly caramelized. Then add garlic. Cook until garlic is a bit soft and the whole kitchen smells wonderful. Add mushrooms and stir around for awhile. Add in soup stock and let boil. Simmer and add in steak sauce, bbq marinade sauce, worchestershire sauce, freshly ground pepper and salt. Adjust seasoning to achieve desired taste. Serve over steak, buttered vegetables or rice ala KFC.

Leave a Reply

